Helen Hayes had already become a legend on Broadway for her versatility and nuance and had made a handful of silent films when MGM put her under contract in 1931. She won a Best Actress Oscar for her role in The Sin of Madelon Claudet, and while she went on to star in a number of critically acclaimed films, her popularity on screen never matched that of her on the stage.

She left motion pictures after 1935, making only sporadic appearances on film and TV shows thereafter. She had an eight decade long career, and would eventually win a Best Supporting Actress for her role in Airport in 1970. She would finish her career playing Miss Marple in a number of TV movies before passing away in 1993.

Helen Hayes’ Pre-Code Filmography

  • The Sin of Madelon Claudet (1931)
  • Arrowsmith (1931)
  • A Farewell to Arms (1932)
  • The Son-Daughter (1932)
  • The White Sister (1933)
  • Another Language (1933)
  • Night Flight (1933)


Videos of Helen Hayes

A breakdown of Helen Hayes’ career and a tour of her house from the 1980s:

Autobiography of Helen Hayes


On Reflection
by Helen Hayes and Sandford Dody

Click here to view this on Amazon.

Helen Hayes Sites and Links

Other Actresses

BlondellIcon Crawford DietrichIcon
Dressler FrancisIcon GarboIcon
HarlowIcon Hopkins ShearerIcon
StanwyckIcon West OtherFamous